This page is part of the FREE site located at There is NO charge to access any page on this site. If you have arrived here through a pay site click here to go to the original free Sangamon County ILGenWeb site.


USGenWeb Logo

Welcome to Sangamon County ILGenWeb.

I have been working on updates for this website with a focus on responsive design that is optimized for home computers and modern devices, to help you access our collection comfortably from anywhere. A major challenge to this update is the depth of the collection. The amount of information provided here is amazing and many thanks go to all our contributors and coordinators over the years.

My strategy in updating this site is going to be based on information availability as the top priority. I do not want any resources on the site to become unavailable at any time. Therefore, updates to accessibility or any changes to visual design may be more apparent at the end of the process, in order to preserve the resources as they are available currently.

Please contact me if you have any questions, you need help finding a resource, or want to contribute information or resources to the site.

- Michael King ([email protected])

Site Updated on 13 Jan 2019.

Sangamon County was formed in 1821 from Madison and Bond Counties. The county took its name from the Sangamon River which runs through it. Sangamon comes from the Pottawatomie word Sain-guee-mon allegedly meaning "where there is plenty to eat." Calhoun, named after Senator John Calhoun, became the county seat in 1821. By 1832 Calhoun was so unpopular the town was renamed Springfield. It became the third Illinois State capitol in 1837, thanks in no small part to a legislator who is better known as President of the United States, Abraham Lincoln. Springfield is the location of two state capitol buildings ["old" and "new"], the legislature, the state archives, the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library, Abraham Lincoln's home and his tomb at Oak Ridge Cemetery.

Sangamon County Historical Society

Probates, Wills and Deeds


Sangamon County Query Boards at GenForum

Sangamon County Query Boards at Rootsweb/Ancestry
These appear to still be down.


index sitemap advanced
site search by freefind


  • Menard County
  • Logan County
  • Macon County
  • Christian County
  • Montgomery County
  • Macoupin County
  • Morgan County
  • Cass County

    Delayed Birth Records, Misc. Years

    Scanned images of 90 page book published by Eileen Gochanour in 1986 and posted with her permission.

    Naturalization Records 1862-1864
    These records were copied from the IRAD (Illinois Regional Archives Depository) in 1982, published by Eileen Gochanour in 1986 and posted with her permission. The information was transcribed by Gayle Swoik.

    Marriage Information
    Applications for Marriages 1879 - 1881
    BRIDE Index to Marriage Applications 1879 - 1881
    GROOM Index to Marriage Applications 1879 - 1881
    Illinois Statewide Marriage Index to 1900

    Soldiers from Sangamon County
    Grand Army of the Republic (GAR) Research Page

    Lists of Veterans by War
    War of 1812
    Black Hawk War
    Mexican War
    Illinois Soldiers in the Black Hawk War, 1831-32, and in the Mexican War, 1846-8 (The listing is by place of enlistment not place of residence.)
    Civil War
    Civil War - Navy
    Spanish American War

    Place Name Locator
    Sanborn Maps of Sangamon County at CARLI. You must have a login from a member institution to open the CARLI maps.
    Sanborn Maps of Sangamon County at LOC

    History of the Disciples of Christ
    The donation of the Sangamon County, Illinois, 1830 Census images for permanent, free display in the Sangamon County ILGenWeb Archives was made possible through donations by local researchers. This includes images for all of what was then Sangamon County in 1830 including large parts of Logan and Menard.
    Index to the 1830 Census
    1856 Unpaid Tax Lists
    1870 Mortality Schedule

    Illinois County Boundaries Maps
    1837 Towns, Places, Creeks
    The City of Springfield
    The Village of Dawson
    The Village of Mechanicsburg
    "The Deep Snow" in 1830-1831
    Nov 19 & 26, 1847 James Reed Diary [Donner Party]
    1871 Springfield History from Google Books
    Townships Histories with 1875 Plats
    1876 Sangamon County History
    Index and Biographies from 1876 History
    Early Arrivals - 1876 Early Settlers
    Where They Settled - 1876 Early Settlers
    Connected by Marriage - 1876 Early Settlers
    Index and Biographies in History of Sangamon County, Illinois
    1889 Sangamon County Directory
    Index and Biographies in Portrait & Biographical Album of Sangamon County, Illinois [1891]
    Index and Biographies in History of the City of Springfield and Sangamon County, Illinois - 1901 Old Settlers' Society

    Index and Biographies in Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Sangamon County Volume II - Biographical [1912]
    Credits: Shirley Aleguas for transcribing biographies from the 1881, 1891, 1904 and 1912 publications
    Mary Ann Kaylor for transcribing biographies from the 1904 and 1912 publications
    Patty Gaddis for transcribing biographies from the 1912 publication.

    Cemetery Information

    Search for cemetery records in Sangamon County, IL at by entering a surname and clicking search:

    Restrict search to

    Wimmer Cemetery - Auburn
    Saint Mary's Catholic Cemetery - New Berlin
    The Political Graveyard - Sangamon County
    Sangamon County at MAGA
    Burial records for the Camp Butler National Cemetery - through May 15, 2000
    Pritchett Funeral Home Records
              19 Feb 1921 -- 15 Oct 1939
              15 Oct 1939 -- 29 Mar 1962
    Crowder Family Cemetery photos
    Oak Ridge Cemetery Block 14 photos
    Cumberland Sugar Creek Cemetery
    Calvary Cemetery, Illiopolis
    Riverside Cemetery, Illiopolis
    Taylor Cemetery, Clear Lake Twp
    Wilcox Cemetery (aka Garvey and Baker), Illiopolis
    Calvary Cemetery Inscriptions, Springfield.

    Useful Information

    Photo Album Page
    Research Aids & Addresses
    Online Illinois Death Records
    Illinois State Maps
    1940 Sangamon County Map (large)

    Elijah Iles, Founder
    1876 Biography of Elijah Iles
    1881 Biography of Elijah Iles
    1904 Biography of Elijah Iles
    1881 Reminiscence of Elijah Iles
    The Elijah Iles House Blog
    Letter from Elijah Iles to Daniel P. Cook

    Other founders of Springfield
    John Kelly
    Pascal P. Enos
    John Taylor

    Family Histories
    BROOKS, Mattie Allen BUCHANAN
    CAMERON (part 1), John Miller
    CAMERON (part 2), John Miller
    CAMERON (part 3), John Miller
    CARTER, John and Elizabeth
    MARX, Jacob
    NORTH, John

    Sangamon County Research Aids
    The Madeira Island Exiles
    Sangamon County Government
    Springfield Chosen as State Capitol


    ILGenWeb References Project Illinois Links
    Illinois History Information and Links The ILGenWeb Project


  • National Archives Genealogy Page
  • Linkpendium - Over 10 MILLION Genealogy Links and A Free Search Engine
  • Cyndi's List - The Ultimate in Genealogy Links
  • Free Online Census Records

    All materials contained on these pages are furnished for the free use of individuals engaged in researching their personal genealogy. Any commercial use or any use for which money is asked or paid for any reason is strictly prohibited.

    Copyright by Cheryl Rothwell for ILGenWeb
    The ILGenWeb Sangamon County Coordinator is Michael King.

    This page is "Sangamon County ILGenWeb" on the Sangamon County, Illinois, ILGenWeb site. The address of this page is